Monday, June 24, 2013

GSN's "Minute To Win It" Premieres Tomorrow & A Brief International Retrospect

Courtesy of GSN.
Tuesday, June 25 marks the official series premiere of GSN's Minute To Win It with eight-time Winter Olympic medalist Apolo Anton Ohno at the helm. Beginning tomorrow night, new episodes of the former NBC game show will air back-to-back staring at 8:00pm EST until 10:00pm EST every Tuesday night. In case you haven't seen the preview episode GSN aired May 23 after the second season finale of The American Bible Challenge, the gameplay is still the same: a contestant or a team of two face 10 deceptively simple challenges for a grand prize of $250,000 --- if the contestant/team can hang on to at least one of their three lives at the end of their game. Although the network's revival maintained the abrupt commercial breaks in the middle of a challenge in progress and spoiler teasers, GSN has done a good job of reviving this series. 

In the mean time, check out what other countries have done with the Minute To Win It format and a look back at some of the most memorable moments from the NBC series. Stay tuned!

Country: Greece
Show Title: Minute To Win It
Host: Dimitris Hungarezos
Premiere Date: March 3, 2012
Top Prize: 50,000

Country: United Kingdom
Show Title: Minute To Win It
Host: Darren McMullen
Premiere Date: August 30, 2011
Top Prize: 30,000

Country: Australia
Show Title: Minute To Win It
Host: Darren McMullen
Premiere Date: June 12, 2010
Top Prize: $1,000,000

Country: United States (Spanish Version)
Show Title: Minuto Para Ganar 
Host: Marco Antonio Regil
Premiere Date: August 13, 2012
Top Prize: $100,000

Country: United States (NBC)
Show Title: Minute To Win It
Host: Guy Fieri
Premiere Date: March 14, 2010
Top Prize: $1,000,000

No comments:

Post a Comment