Thursday, September 12, 2013

"Jeopardy" To Hold Battle of The Decades Tournament During 30th Season

On Monday, September 16, Jeopardy will be entering its 30th year in syndication with a newly designed, more vibrant set and a special tournament to celebrate the long-running answer-question game show. The Battle of The Decades tournament will invite 45 of the best contestants from the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s. Home viewers will be able to vote for their favorite contestant from each decade to compete on the show. The online polls will open during the fall on, Facebook and Twitter.  The eventual tournament winner will receive a $1 million cash prize. In addition to the special tournament, other season highlights will include the Teen Tournament, College Championship, Teachers Tournament and a travel sweepstakes to be announced later this year.  Check your local listings.

Next to the Ultimate Tournament of Champions in 2005, the upcoming Battle of The Decades will be one of biggest Jeopardy event in the show's extensive history. Here are a few Jeopardy powerhouses expected to appear in the tournament, given their exceptional performance during their appearance:

 - Jerome Vered: 5-day champion, former one-day record holder ($34,000), third place in Ultimate Tournament of Champions; 1992
 - Ken Jennings: Longest winning streak with 74 games winning over $2.5 million during original run; IBM Challenge runner-up; 2004
 - Brad Rutter: Biggest all-time winner with $3,455,102; won three tournaments, undefeated champion; third place in IBM Challenge; 2000
 - Roger Craig: Current one-day record holder with ($77,000), largest Daily Double Wager and Win ($18,000); 2010
 - Chuck Forrest: 5-day champion and 1986 tournament champion, known for popular strategic maneuver called the “Forrest Bounce”; 1985

It’s going to be very interesting to find out who will be selected to compete in The Battle of The Decades tournament. Behind by only about $400,000 to Ken Jennings, Brad Rutter could reclaim the top spot among the ranks of the biggest, all-time winners in American game show history.


No comments:

Post a Comment