Monday, June 17, 2013

Alex Trebek Honored At The National Geographic Society's 125th Anniversary Gala

Long-time game show host Alex Trebek was honored at the National Geographic Society's 125th Anniversary Gala this past Thursday. The event was held at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C. and was presented by National Geographic Society CEO and chairman John Fahey. The famed Emmy Award-winning Jeopardy! host received the Alexander Graham Bell Award, not only for his commitment to geography education, but also for his many years of serving as host of the National Geographic Bee since the competition's humble beginnings in 1989. Trebek was among the list of award recipients for the evening, which included scientist and author Edward O. Wilson (the Hubbard Medal), explorer and filmmaker James Cameron (the Hubbard Medal), oceanographer Sylvia Earle (the Hubbard Medal), humanitarian Howard Buffet (the Chairman's Award) and BASE jumper Felix Baumgartner (the Adventurer of the Year Award). 

This year marked Trebek's 25th and final year as the National Geographic Bee's emcee. In his final year, Trebek saw Sathwik Karnik, a 12-year-old 7th grader from Norfolk, Mass. win $25,000 as the 2013 National Geographic Bee champion. Needless to say, Trebek is heavily involved in National Geographic World as he has also been the moderator for all 10 biennial National Geographic World Championships and currently serves on the board of the National Geographic Society Education Foundation. Next year, CNN's Soledad O'Brien will take the helm as Trebek's successor for the annual competition. Congratulations to Alex Trebek for his most recent award-winning achievement!

**Both photos courtesy of Rebecca Hale/National Geographic**
Source: National Geographic

No comments:

Post a Comment